Copermittees – Project Clean Water


The Stormwater San Diego Region Copermittees to the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit are the owners of local municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4), through which urban runoff discharges into the waters of the United States. Together, the 18 cities, the County of San Diego, the Port of San Diego, and the Regional Airport Authority implement the Permit, which has undergone several updates before reaching the current Order No. R9-2013-0001, as amended by Order Nos. R9-2015-0001 and R9-2015-0100.

The Order is the direct result of several pieces of legislation which include the federal Clean Water Act, the Porter-Cologne Water Quality Control Act, applicable state and federal regulations, all applicable provisions of statewide Water Quality Control Plans and Policies adopted by the State Water Resources Control Board, the Water Quality Control Plan for San Diego Basin adopted by the Regional Water Quality Control Board, the California Toxics Rule, and the California Toxics Rule Implementation Plan. The order provides a basis for development of Water Quality Improvement Plans (WQIPs) that outline monitoring efforts and strategies to improve water quality for each Watershed Management Area (WMA).

Contact information for all jurisdictions subject to the San Diego Municipal Storm Water Permit (as amended by Order Nos. R9-2015-0001 and R9-2015-0100) is listed here:

Copermittee Contact Information

To report complaints related to illicit stormwater discharge, please refer to our Report Pollution tool.