Trash Adhoc Workgroup – Project Clean Water

Trash Adhoc Workgroup


Trash Ad Hoc Workgroup Mission

The San Diego Copermittees formed a Trash Ad Hoc Workgroup, a subcommittee of the Program Planning Subcommittee, as an effort to provide regional coordination on the implementation of this new program. The goals of this workgroup are to provide discussion and coordination on: Track 2 Implementation Plan; Purchase and Program Funding Strategies; Case Studies, including addressing flood control and vector issues; Coordination with Caltrans, RWQCB, Orange and Riverside Counties; and future impacts of the program implementation to the Land Development requirements.

Trash Amendment Background

The California State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) identified trash as a widespread problem in California waters. In response, the State Water Board has developed a Statewide Trash Policy, that includes Amendments to the Water Quality Control Plan for Inland Surface Waters, Enclosed Bays, and Estuaries of California Plan, to streamline trash elimination efforts from Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) discharges. San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board issued Order No. R9- 2017-0077 on June 2, 2017 that San Diego County Municipal Copermittees to begin implementation of the Amendments. Compliance with the Amendments can be demonstrated by full capture device installation across the San Diego County (Track 1), or by demonstrating full capture equivalency using other means with a measurable demonstration of total trash capture (Track 2).

To support the development of a Trash Amendments compliance strategy, San Diego Region’s Copermittees participated in a regional trash study which is available for download here.


Trash Ad Hoc Workgroup Chair:

Noah Alvey
Business Phone: (619) 825-3827
E-Mail: [email protected]

Alicia Appel – City of Escondido
Brian Nemerow –  City of Vista
Douglas Dowden – City of San Marcos
Erica Keyser – Mikhal Ogawa Engineering
Stephanie Gaines – County of San Diego
Jim Hook -City of San Diego
Joe Kuhn – City of La Mesa
John Quenzer – DMax Inc.
Justin Gamble – City of Oceanside
Kelly Ogawa – Mikhal Ogawa Engineering
M. Rocco – City of Poway
Marisa Soriano – City of Chula Vista
Mikhail Ogawa – Mikhail Ogawa Engineering
Jamie Milani – County of San Diego
N. Grossberg – City of Encinitas
Paul Hartman – Larry Walker Associates
Stephanie Bauer – Port of San Diego
Douglas Thomsen – City of San Diego
Vivi Mai (Stevens) – City of Carlsbad
Yvette Noir – Michael Baker International

Meeting Materials

Trash Studies and Resources